How is the grading system in the UK?

Foreign Students's picture

You might find that the grading system in the UK is different from what you are used to at home. At undergraduate level, universities typically divide passing grades into  four categories:

- 70-100%: First-Class Honours (known as a First)

- 60-70%: Upper Second-Class Honours (known as a 2:1)

- 50-60%: Lower Second-Class Honours (known as a 2:2)

- 40-50%: Third-Class Honours (known as a Third)

At postgraduate level these four categories generally keep the same percentage levels, but the names become (in descending order): Distinction, Merit, and Pass.

Make sure to check your institution's student handbook for specific grading criteria, as this will vary depending on the course and even sometimes the professors.