UK Geography

What are the major cities in the UK?

Foreign Students's picture

Each country within the UK has its own capital city. For England it is London, Scotland's is Edinburgh, Wales' is Cardiff and Northern Ireland's is Belfast. However, there are many other major cities such as Birmingham in the Midlands of England, Manchester in the North of England, and Glasgow in Scotland, to give just a few examples.

What is the difference between Great Britain, the UK and England?

Foreign Students's picture

People use the terms 'Britain' and 'the UK' (which stands for the United Kingdom) to mean the same thing- the collection of England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. England is simply a country within Britain, just as Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are. For example, people from Scotland are both Scottish and British (but certainly not English).

Which countries are part of Britain?

Foreign Students's picture

Britain is made up of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Each are separate countries that together make up Britain.

Syndicate content